Let them eat Cake!

Well as much as I dislike planning Christmas before a reasonable time frame some things can not be helped. One of those things is making the Christmas Cake! In our case that means making 3 cakes so one Saturday me and the wife got the old instructions out care of her late Nan and set to work. The instructions are so old the measurement of ‘quart’ is used, so it’s fun working everything out but they turn out great in the end!

Now I’m not going to reveal the secrets of this amazing recipe to the world but the photographs I took I think show the wonderful organic way in which a cake takes shape and the massive amount of fruit and other ingredients that go into the mix. I think being a former baker I love the way ingredients mix to form a new thing which is then acted upon to create a totally new entity. So enjoy and I hope it makes you feel all Christmas-like. Note the brandy in the distance…

 

Leave a Reply

