Edinburgh – A return to a quite beautiful city (part3)

The technique here is to do with tilting or moving the camera during the shutter being open. I first came across this in practical photography magazine, where Editor Andrew James titled his piece ‘Tilt’. This confused me at first as ’tilt’ photography is a popular technique used to make scenes look like they are made in miniature; just type ’tilt photography’ into Google and set facial expression to awe!

Anyway what I tried was actually titling the camera  while the shutter is open on the camera (so the camera records all the light it receives in a weird track like motion). So this image…

Edinburgh's Camera Obscura - big clue to next blog

…was a clue to what I was going to do, the endless lights behind me in the picture are from the Edinburgh Camera Obscura visit, so I choose to experiment with this technique and see what I come out, I was very pleased when it came to editing these results. Do let me know what you think of these images on either facebook or twitter – or on the comments thing below.

Thanks for looking.

Leave a Reply

