Forget the Night Ahead – Review

So over Christmas I got some money and thought I’ve not funded the pockets of some record labels for a bit so I purchased a whole host of albums and music I had been wanting to get for some time.

The first of these reviews kicks off with The Twlight Sad, a band that my good friend Tom Bass (second name is a nickname as I know too many Tom’s, this one was my bass player in BPA) got me into.

First off I love bands who’s singer sings in the accent of their area, and TTS are the perfect example of that, a raw powerful but runnable voice echo’s through this album courtesy of James Graham. The whole sound of the album in facts lends it’s self to a live and open feel, as if it was recorded in a field with a slight echo.

A large epic sound can sometimes come across as not being emotionally connecting with the audience but this is draped in emotion, heart ache, despair, and loneliness. This is certainly an album where a heart is served up on a plate for all to see it’s beauty and it’s life.

The title track introduces you to the sound of TTS a great massive bombastic drum noise with effect heavy guitars and driving bass. Now around this time the normal reviewer gives the reader some helpful sign posts on where to position this band in your mental music library, these comparisons are normally lazy and sometimes miss the mark completely, so hopefully this won’t. Imagine a heavier Idlewild one darker than the mid to late 90’s version but with the same youthful energy that made Hope Is Important and 100 Broken Windows such good albums, mix this with a Mogwai sense of filling the space on a song then your getting close.

The latter comparison isn’t surprising given that they recently supported Mogwai on their UK tour, but it must be something about Scottish music of this ilk that manage to wonderfully convey a despite pain and longing for better times, the Scots for me do this better than other nationalities.

So for me this album has great points and doesn’t get boring half way through, it does have the same dynamic of seeing them live i.e my ears still work, but it does show you just how good they are while giving a nod to where they hope to be in the future. This is a great album with real gems that pull it above their class mates, such tracks as The Room which is brilliantly simple, raw and emotive. The album takes you into dark places but I’ve always had a fondness of such places so it appeals to me, just don’t pick it up expecting to see the world in a better light afterwards.

Now when I review an album that’s been out for ages I take a quick look at what others have said about the record, two main themes came out ‘wow they use a lot of effects’ and ‘It does sound quite same-y’. On the first point I LOVE the fact it’s got a massive. expansive sound with lots of noise and this sound isn’t a patch on the experience of hearing them live! And I can understand the same-y comment but I think there is enough here to separate a track from other tracks and the whole album has a ‘feel’ because of this common sound.

So in a nutshell : MASSIVE sound, dark themes, very promising band.

Leave a Reply

