Nunnington Hall – a peacock and old design

Anyone who knows me will know that I love a good National Trust (NT) property, me and Mairi both own NT cards* and when ever we can we have a look around a property and it’s grounds we do. So on the 30th of July (2 days before Roberta was born) we went around Nunnington Hall in North Yorkshire and I took some pictures.

Most of the images are of the outside of the house but we do have some internal photos, this includes a heavily morbid needle work patten.

Much to my amazement they had a Guillemots exhibition on – I know in the loft of an NT House, how odd.I have never really took much notice of the band before the exhibition but after this exhibition I deemed them suitably odd enough for me to listen to. I then paid £10 for a signed copy of their debut mercury nominated album Through the Windowpane at this exhibition (half the price it is on the website) and I have really enjoyed it. Sadly photos were banned from the exhibition – although no one was watching I still respected their artistic right and so no images were taken of the exhibition.

So Nunnington Hall ladies and gents, enjoy. As always, click on a photo to learn more.

*Me and Mairi actually have National Trust of Scotland cards as they’re cheaper than the English version but you get into both English and Scottish properties.  

4 poster bedAll lined up Bed paint workBlue platesA BBC opera programme  from 1927 Just a tad morbid for 10Carlisle Collection workshopA Nunnington BeeNunnington Wishing treeNunnington Wishing tree 4Nunnington Wishing tree 3Nunnington Wishing tree 2At the bottom of the gardenNot blurred it's the plantPeacock Peacock Peacock

2 thoughts on “Nunnington Hall – a peacock and old design

  1. These are some beauitful photos. I especially love the photo of the gate because the arrow that rests on top leads your eyes further into the photo. It’s very inviting. Moreover, the landscape looks beautiful as well.

    I also like the last photo of the peacock – mainly because of its humor. It looks as if the peacock is just as curious about us as we are about him (or her). Anyhow, great photos!

    If you find a moment, please visit my photoblog at the link provided below. I am an ameteur photographer, so any advice will go a long way. Thanks!

    http://eversince1983.wordpress.com/

    Don’t forget to subscribe to my blog in order to see my progress!

    • Hi Jerry, cheers for the comments.

      I’m an Amateur too – I just have a D3000 an 18-35mm lens and a tripod, all I can afford at the moment. I liked your every week doing something different approach I can go for weeks without taking a snap at the moment so having something to aim for would be good.

      I often take part in http://www.guardian.co.uk/artanddesign/series/camera-club as it’s a good challenge and even getting on to the guardian’s Flickr group is an achievement (only done it once with a set of 5 images).

      So yeah keep going and I don’t tend to subscribe I’m a Google guy so I’ll put you on my reader feed.

      Keep up the good work.
      R

Leave a Reply

